You require a visa in order to legally enter and remain in Germany. Normally you must apply for a visa in your home country. Further information can be found at Make it in Germany for foreign professionals.



Citizens of European Union (EU) member countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland do not need a visa. Citizens of other countries must normally apply for a visa before entering Germany.



Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa merely to enter Germany. However, they may stay in Germany for no more than 90 days in any half year but may not engage in any employment. You can apply for the residence permit you require after entering Germany at any German foreign nationals’ office.

  • Australia (including the Cocos Islands, Norfolk Island, Christmas Island)
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Canada
  • Korea (the Republic of Korea, South Korea)
  • New Zealand (including the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau)
  • the United States of America (including the US Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico)

Which visa do I need?

If you wish to take up employment or study/occupational training, you must ensure that you apply for a visa for the intended purpose.

The foreign missions of the Federal Republic of Germany are responsible for issuing visas.